STAC

Membership

Reports

STAC Members

The STAC is a 21 member body led by a chairperson and the PDE Science Director. Standing representatives are appointed by key partners of the Partnership for the Delaware Estuary. Elected representatives are nominated to achieve a balance of technical expertise diverse representation across workplace sectors (e.g. agencies, academia, industry, NGO). See the STAC Charter and STAC Membership List for more information.

Chairperson:
Susan Kilham, 
Ph.D, Professor; Drexel University; Department of Bioscience and Biotechnology; 3201 Chestnut Street; Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone: 215-895-2628
Email: kilhams@drexel.edu

Science Advisor:
Danielle Kreeger
, Ph.D, Science Director; Partnership for the Delaware Estuary;
One Riverwalk Plaza; 110 S. Poplar Street, Suite 202; Wilmington, DE 19801
Phone, 302-655-4990 x104
Email, DKreeger@DelawareEstuary.org

Partnership for the Delaware Estuary – Executive Director:
Jennifer Adkins
 (ex officio representative), Executive Director; Partnership for the Delaware Estuary;
One Riverwalk Plaza; 110 S. Poplar Street, Suite 202; Wilmington, DE 19801;
Phone, 302-655-4990 x102;
Email, JAdkins@DelawareEstuary.org

 

Standing Representatives

1. Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
David Wolanski

Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control; Division of Water Resources, Watershed Assessment Section
Silver Lake Plaza-Suite 220, 820 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904-2464
Phone: (302) 739-4590
Email: david.wolanski@state.de.us
Expertise: water quality, monitoring
Represents: DNREC, DE, state/regional agency

2. Delaware River Basin Commission
Thomas Fikslin
, Ph.D
Delaware River Basin Commission; 25 State Police Drive; West Trenton, NJ 08628
Phone: (609) 883-9500, ext. 253;
E-mail: Thomas.Fikslin@drbc.state.nj.us
Expertise: water quality, monitoring, modeling
Represents: DRBC, MAC, TAC, state/regional agency

3. Delaware River Basin Fish and Wildlife Cooperative
OPEN

4. Environmental Protection Agency (one representative from either Region II or III)
Kristin Regan
Office of Monitoring and Assessment; U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region III; 1650 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone: (215) 814-2711
Email: Regan.Kristin@epa.gov
Represents: US EPA, federal agency

or

Kelly Somers  
Office of State and Watershed Partnerships; U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region III; 1650 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone: (215) 814-2719
Email: Somers.Kelly@epa.gov
Represents: US EPA, federal agency

5. New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
Dr. Lori Lester

Division of Science, Research and Environmental Health; New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection; P.O. Box 420; Trenton, NJ 08625
Phone: (609) 292-2876
Email: lori.lester@dep.nj.gov
Expertise: sea level rise, estuarine/marine systems
Represents: NJDEP, NJ, state/regional agency

6. Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
Donald F. Knorr
Southeast Regional Office, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection, Norristown, PA 19401
Phone: (484) 250-5160
Email: doknorr@pa.gov
Expertise: wetlands, aquatic ecology, water quality
Represents: PADEP, PA, state/regional agency

7. Philadelphia Water
Lance Butler

Office of Watersheds; Philadelphia Water; Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone: (215) 685-4947;
E-mail: Lance.Butler@phila.gov
Expertise: aquatic ecology, water quality, monitoring
Represents: PWD, City of Philadelphia

OR

Josef Kardos
Philadelphia Water; Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone: (215) 685-4946
E-mail: Josef.Kardos@phila.gov
Expertise: Water Quality Modeling

8. Monitoring Advisory Committee
John Yagecic
, (alternate member for Tom Fikslin)
Delaware River Basin Commission;
25 State Police Drive; West Trenton, NJ 08628
Phone: (609) 883-9500
Email: John.Yagecic@drbc.state.nj.us
Expertise: water quality, monitoring, modeling
Represents: DRBC, MAC, state/regional agency

9. Toxics Advisory Committee
Thomas Fikslin
, Ph.D
Delaware River Basin Commission
25 State Police Drive; West Trenton, NJ 08628
Phone: (609) 883-9500, ext. 253;
E-mail: Thomas.Fikslin@drbc.state.nj.us
Expertise: water quality, monitoring, modeling
Represents: DRBC, MAC, TAC, state/regional agency

Elected Representatives

Gregory Breese
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
2610 Whitehall Neck Rd.; Smyrna, DE 19977
Phone: (302) 653-9152
E-mail: Gregory_Breese@fws.gov
Expertise: wildlife, conservation
Represents: USF&W, federal agency

David Bushek, Ph.D.
Haskin Shellfish Research Laboratory, Rutgers University
6959 Miller Avenue; Port Norris, NJ 08349
Phone: (856) 785-0074, ext. 4327
Email: bushek@hsrl.rutgers.edu
Expertise: shellfish ecology, disease, restoration
Represents: academia, NJ

Laura Craig
American Rivers, River Restoration Program, PO Box 14986, Philadelphia, PA 19149
Phone: (856) 786-9000
Email: lcraig@americanrivers.org
Expertise: aquatic ecology, river restoration, nutrient dynamics
Represents: non-profit

Dorina Frizzera, MS, CPM, AICP
Getting to Resilience, LLC – Independent Consultant 100 Aunt Molly Road, Hopewell, NJ 08525-2307
Phone: (609) 532-2861
Email: dorina.frizzera@gmail.com;GettingtoResilienceLLC@gmail.com
Expertise: natural resource and land use planning, restoration, coastal/community/climate resilience, working waterfronts, public access
Represents: Independent Consultant for Hire

Desmond Kahn, Ph.D.
Fishery Investigations
Phone: (302) 739-9911
Email: dkahn2013@gmail.com
Expertise: fisheries, blue crabs, striped bass, weakfish

Gerald J. Kauffman, Ph.D.
University of Delaware, Water Resources Agency Institute for Public Administration
DGS Annex, Academy Street; Newark, DE 19716:
Phone: (302) 831-4929
Email: jerryk@udel.edu
Expertise: watersheds, management
Represents: academia

Susan Kilham, Ph.D
Drexel University; Department of Bioscience & Biotechnology
3201 Chestnut Street; Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone: (215) 895-2628
E-mail: kilhams@drexel.edu
Expertise: plankton, food webs, nutrients
Represents: academia

Daphne Munroe, Ph.D
Haskin Shellfish Research Laboratory, Rutgers University
6959 Miller Avenue; Port Norris, PA 08349
Phone: (856) 785-0074 ext. 4325
E-mail: dmunroe@hsrl.rutgers.edu
Expertise: marine/coastal sustainability, larval ecology and population connectivity/dynamics
Represents: academia, NJ

Alison Rogerson
Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control, Wetland Monitoring and Assessment Program
820 Silver Lake Blvd. Suite 220, Dover, DE 19904
Phone: (302) 739-9939
Email: Alison.Rogerson@state.de.us
Expertise: wetlands
Represents: Delaware, state government

Pete Rowe
New Jersey Sea Grant Consortium
22 Magruder Road, Fort Hancock, NJ 07732
Phone: (732) 872-1300 x 31
E-mail: prowe@njseagrant.org
Expertise: Estuarine Ecology, Early Life History, Marine Larval Ecology
Represents: academia, NJ, Sea Grant

Kari St. Laurent, Ph.D
Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control, Research Coordinator
DNERR St Jones Reserve, 818 Kitts Hummock Road, Dover, DE 19901
Phone: (302) 739-6377
Email: Kari.StLaurent@state.de.us
Expertise: wetlands, ecosystem and climate changes, organic geochemistry
Represents: Delaware, state government

Kenneth A. Strait
PSEG, Manager – Biological Programs, Permitting and Environmental Services
P.O. Box 236; M/C N33; Hancocks Bridge, New Jersey 08038
Phone: (856) 878-6929
Email: kenneth.strait@pseg.com
Expertise: wetland ecology, environmental assessments, restoration
Represents: industry

Jeff Fischer, Ph.D.
U.S. Geological Survey; New Jersey Water Science Center
810 Bear Tavern Road Suite 206; West Trenton, NJ 08628
Phone: (609) 771-3953
Email: fischer@usgs.gov
Expertise: water quality monitoring, data management
Represents: federal agency

Elizabeth Watson, Ph.D.
Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University
1900 Ben Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia, PA 19004
Phone: (215) 299-1109
Email: elizabeth.b.watson@drexel.edu
Expertise: wetland ecology, global change
Represents: academia, PA

Past STAC Members (2006-present)

PDE thanks the many scientists and managers who have served on the STAC since it’s rebirth in 2006.

  • Allison Allen – 2007-2011
  • Kenneth Anderson II – 2006-2007
  • Thomas Belton – 2009-2013
  • Gary Buchanan – 2006-2009
  • David Burke- 2006-2015
  • Gerald Bright – 2011-2013
  • Lance Butler – 2006-2011
  • Bob Chant – 2008-2009
  • William Eldridge – 2013-2016
  • Dewayne Fox – 2006-2008
  • John Gallagher – 2006-2010
  • Jeff Gebert – 2008-2013
  • Simeon Hahn – 2006-2008
  • Jaweed Hameedi – 2006-2008
  • Robert Hoke – 2006-2011
  • Steve Hughes -2010-2011
  • Amy Jacobs – 2006-2009
  • Heather Jensen – 2014-2017
  • Moses Katkowski -2013-2017
  • John Kraeuter -2006-2013
  • Adrian Leary – 2013-2014
  • Abdolhossain Liaghat – 2015-2016
  • Doug Miller – 2008-2014
  • Larry Miller – 2006-2008
  • Jerre Mohler – 2008-2013
  • Tracy Quirk – 2012-2014
  • Dave Russell – 2006-2010
  • Renee Searfoss – 2010-2015
  • Jonathan Sharp – 2006-2010
  • Chris Sommerfield – 2006-2008
  • Dan Soeder – 2006-2009 (Chair for 2006-2009)
  • David Velinsky – 2006-2013
  • Eric Vowinkel- 2009-2013